Skip to content

Slanghoek Triathlon

25/11/2011

Was super nervous going into this race after my vomiting stint at Clanwilliam. But I took the lesson learnt and applied them to this race.

Two hours before the race I went and ate a bowl full of muesli and yoghurt, this was to increase my sugar levels and give my stomach time to digest the food before the race.

We left Cape Town in the pouring rain but arrive in Slanghoek to sunny skies. Perfect weather!

I got suited up and headed down to the water for a warm-up. The water was pretty much freezing and after the warm-up I waited on the bank of the dam for the start and almost froze my butt off!

I had a good swim and came out the water in first with another dude. I had a quick transition and headed out on the bike in first.

The bike leg was great! It is a off-road triathlon so I was on my mountain bike. I felt good and saw myself pulling away from the chasers. Slanghoek is a beautiful place to ride in, incredible views, fun river crossings and riding through the vineyards!

I came into transition 2 with about a 2 minute lead. This was perfect as two weeks before I had torn my hamstring badly and needed a lead to ease my hammy into the run. It was hurting the whole time but was holding and so I was happy. About 2km to go I looked around and saw a guy catching me so I had to speed up which caused me quite a bit of pain with the hammy. Luckily the guy didn’t bridge the gap as I am almost 100% sure my hammy wouldn’t have held for a sprint finish!

So I finished the race in first, my first triathlon I have won! I am pretty chuffed about that!

What I learnt:

  • Eating 2 hours before the race to increase sugar levels is perfect!
  • No energy drink on these shorter races, my stomach doesn’t feel good when I am trying to go fast with energy drinks in it.
  • Always eat as soon as possible after the race, to replace the sugar you are burning.

Here are a few pics from the race:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Botha Pretorius permalink
    25/11/2011 9:06 am

    Great stuff Luke! Well done!

    • 25/11/2011 2:26 pm

      Thanks Botha! How you doing with your diabetes?

      • Botha Pretorius permalink
        25/11/2011 2:43 pm

        Doing very well. Probably the fittest I have been for the last 10 years. The more active I am the better my sugar levels are. Also helps alot with the tennis game. Looking forward to league next year, and giving the youngsters a run for their money.

      • 26/11/2011 9:53 am

        Brilliant! Make those youngsters run, they need it!

  2. 27/11/2011 12:43 pm

    Luke
    Thanks for visiting my blog. You will find more rugby the next few days. And there is one earlier post from 9/16/11. Congratulations on your victory. It is quite an accomplishment under any circumstance and especially so with diabetes. Who shot the photos of you during competition? All the best.

    • 27/11/2011 12:56 pm

      Thanks Victor! My parents came out to watch the race and snapped a few photos. Ciao, all the best as well!

    • 27/11/2011 12:58 pm

      Sorry and Cape Town Sports Photography took two of the photos of me riding over the fences.

Leave a Reply

