Skip to content

Diabetes Awareness Campaign

25/11/2011

November has been Diabetes Awareness Month.

I was asked to participate in a Diabetes Awareness Campaign on the 14th as they wanted someone who uses exercise to help manage their diabetes. I gladly took up this offer!

So a couple of weeks before the campaign they sent a photographer (David Bloomer) to take a few photo of me in a place where I like to exercise, which was at Silvermine Dam. I felt a bit awkward because I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to do and I am no model but David was great.

Now the campaign was at Kingsbury Hospital and it was great! I got to meet other diabetics who are all managing their diabetes differently. I think I walked out of there really encouraged as I got to see so many stories of people who are not letting diabetes manage themselves but they are managing diabetes. Really encouraging!

So as it is Diabetes Month, please go get yourself check. If you are not sure how, send me a message. It is a simple finger prick test and takes less than 30 seconds.

Here are a few pics David took:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out his website: http://www.davidbloomer.co.za

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

