Skip to content

Latest Levels (HbA1c)

21/10/2011

I recently had my HbA1c, it is a very interesting test.

Your red blood cells are made up of haemoglobin, now glucose sticks to the haemoglobin to make haemoglobin A1c or HbA1c. We use the percentage of this test to get my estimated average glucose. This is a very handy test if you are a diabetic because it gives you an idea in how you are managing your diabetes. With everything there are flaws like if I go hypo (low glucose levels) and then hyper (high glucose levels) my average could be the same as just keeping it normal. Basically your red blood cells live for 8-12 weeks which means that if you are trying to improve your measurement then you should get tested every 3 months, but if you are stable then you only need to get tested every 6 months.

OK so that is the quick biology lesson over.

So I had my HbA1c done and it came back at 5.9mmol/L. This is a pretty good result which I am very happy about! I was a little nervous when I had the blood taken because I think my “Honeymoon” phase for the diabetes is over, which means it is harder now to control my glucose level, if I don’t inject enough insulin will remain high and wont come down until I either exercise or inject again.

Still in the Green!I know sport is saving my butt when it comes to managing my glucose levels!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Botha Pretorius permalink
    21/10/2011 12:16 pm

    Cool… i am glad you are controlling the sugar levels. Sport is my saving grace at the moment as well.

    I play touch rugby twice a week and then tennis and/or golf on the weekends. I injured myself in the touch rugby 2 weeks ago, sprained AC joint in my shoulder, and couldn’t play. At the end of the second week i could see my sugar levels going up even though i was eating the same and injecting the same amount of insulin. I started playing again this week and almost instantly my sugar levels were back under control.

    Being fit makes a huge difference, not only on your sugar levels, but mentally as well.

    Keep it up!
    Botha

    • 21/10/2011 12:34 pm

      Huge saving grace!
      I have just torn my hamstring but luckily I am still allowed to swim and ride which is keeping my sugar levels (and my sanity) under control!

      Stoked you are still keeping well and managing your diabetes! It’s brilliant!

  2. 21/10/2011 3:00 pm

    Congrats Luke! That is an excellent HBA1c, I’m still working on getting mine below 7 again… :/ But you are so right, sport and routine (as boring as it sounds, haha) are a diabetic’s two saving graces

  3. 27/11/2011 1:02 pm

    I don’t have diabetes, but this is still interesting to read. My problem is elsewhere in my pancreas, I don’t make the enzymes to digest food; I’m better than I used to be, not been in hospital since 2008! I’m a bit old for sport but will get exercise walking later!

    • 27/11/2011 1:07 pm

      Thanks Mike for taking a look! Sorry to hear about the problems and I truly wish you all the best! I have just found that exercise has helped me diabetes, it does wonders for the soul. Take care!

Leave a Reply

