Skip to content

My biggest mistake so far…

24/05/2011

On Saturday night I made one of my biggest mistakes since becoming a diabetic.

It was my sister’s birthday dinner and we had a great roast. The food was great and the company was awesome!

My younger sister made a berry and chocolate pie for dessert. The temptation was too great for me and I decided I would just inject extra insulin for the dessert.

So I injected my mealtime insulin and then when dessert came I injected extra.

The mistake is that I completely miscalculated the needed dosage and injected WAY too much! 30 minutes after eating the dessert I went hypo (low blood sugar level), sweating, dizziness and confusion. I drank some orange juice and ate some muesli and yoghurt.

This sorted me out for about another 30 minutes until I went hypo again. So I ate more muesli and yoghurt and this brought me right. But 30 minutes later I started going hypo again. This time I was a bit worried because I was so full from eating and couldn’t eat more to bring my sugar levels up. So I gave my doctor friend a call and asked her for advice. She said I should eat sugar now as I have eaten enough food and don’t go to bed until my sugar levels remain normal.

So I started shovelling sugar down my throat and then waited out the insulin. The short acting insulin last for about 2-3 hours. This worked and by the time the insulin had worn off my glucose level was 7.1.

It is strange after going hypo three times I felt absolutely broken! I was exhausted!

So what have I learnt…

Well I its better just to not have dessert. It is just to hard to guess how much insulin I need to inject. Its sad, I enjoy my desserts but I don’t want to go through that again!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    24/05/2011 2:44 pm

    What you learnt: eat sugar when hypo – forget the slow release carbs; estimate insulin dose better; and enjoy the next pudding. Don’t give up puddings – give up bad calculations:)

    • 24/05/2011 7:15 pm

      Yes sugar worked wonders. The problem with trying to estimate the insulin dosage for pudding is that it is very hard (especially if its home made) because you don’t know how many carbs are in it. Its a work in progress I guess.

  2. ash permalink
    24/05/2011 4:18 pm

    just eat the right desserts. There are yummy things out there that won’t hit you so hard:)

    • 24/05/2011 7:18 pm

      This is true Ash, something I need to explore more. It will be tough but someone has to try all the healthy dessert options out there 🙂

  3. Botha Pretorius permalink
    27/05/2011 1:17 pm

    Fortunately, i’ve never had a sweet tooth, so it has been easier for me to stay away from the desserts. I’ve also had some hypo’s over the last week or so. From a combination of exercise and eating too well. Sounds funny, but i have had so little sugar lately and with just a little exercise, my sugar levels falls. I am also in the same frame of mind, to rather eat low Gi foods, rather than taking in sugar. It has helped alot to keep my sugar levels in tact.

    • 27/05/2011 2:21 pm

      Ja not having a sweet tooth helps a lot!
      I find that eating a sandwich or a little bit of muesli before exercising helps prevent hypos during exercise. Depending on the intensity you might need to eat something afterwards.
      Sounds like you are handling your diabetes well, coming up to 2 months now hey?

  4. Megan permalink
    14/06/2011 12:56 pm

    I have to agree with Rose. My pie was not to blame 😉

Leave a Reply

