Skip to content

Had some test done on me

17/03/2011

I recently had my HbA1c, it is a very interesting test.

Your red blood cells are made up of haemoglobin, now glucose sticks to the haemoglobin to make haemoglobin A1c or HbA1c. We use the percentage of this test to get my estimated average glucose. This is a very handy test if you are a diabetic because it gives you an idea in how you are managing your diabetes. With everything there are flaws like if I go hypo (low glucose levels) and then hyper (high glucose levels) my average could be the same as just keeping it normal. Basically your red blood cells live for 8-12 weeks which means that if you are trying to improve your measurement then you should get tested every 3 months, but if you are stable then you only need to get tested every 6 months.

OK so that is the quick biology lesson over.

My results when I was first diagnosed was a HbA1c of 9.7 with an estimated average glucose of 12.8, this obviously is too high and if I kept it like this would lead to terrible complications like amputation of limbs, blindness, organ failure and so on, would kind of suck!

My results this time (3 months after diagnosis) was a HbA1c of 5.6 with an estimated average glucose of 6.3, this is very good result which means that I am managing my diabetes very well! I am super pumped about these results! These results are pretty much as good as a normal (I mean a non-diabetic, cause I am still a normal person) person would get.

If you look at this picture you can see that my HbA1c of 5.6% is all the way in the green which is brilliant and gives me about 6.3 in estimated average glucose.

Now the trick is to keep getting good results which is a challenge I will give my best.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mark permalink
    23/03/2011 3:20 pm

    Amazing stuff Luke, inspired by your attitude.

Leave a Reply

