Skip to content

You learn as you go along

03/12/2010

Feeling a lot better.  This diabetes is a challenge and I am going to freaking conquer this challenge! I think the shock has almost worn off.

So I have had my insulin pens for a couple of days now and boy have I learnt a lot. My diabetes educator told me to take 6 units of my short acting insulin at each meal and 20 units of my long acting insulin when I go to bed, that’s 4 injections a day.

Well so far at about 2am every night I have been waking up drenched in sweat and having to stumble my way through to the kitchen because I am hypoglycaemic and my sugar levels are dropping fast! Been mixing myself muesli and ProNutro to get my sugar levels up again. Going hypo is a terrible feeling, not something I want to repeat.

So I have dropped my long acting insulin down to 14 units a night, this seems to work a lot better for me as I am not waking up hypo. I have kept my short acting(meal time) insulin at 6 units.

I am checking my glucose levels with my glucose meter about 10 times a day which is killing my fingers because you have to prick your finger each time to draw a drop of blood. I just want to find out what works for me and what doesn’t.

I have also changed my diet a little as well. I am trying to eat a low GI, low-fat diet. I have cut out coke, sweets, juice, basically anything high in sugar and I have also stopped eating deep-fried chicken and fish, it’s just better to get things grilled. It will hopefully help me control my glucose levels.

I have also gone back to my training(with caution). Had my first swim on Wednesday, made sure I ate something before I swam to raise my sugar levels. I don’t want to go hypo in the pool, that wouldn’t be fun! I also told my coach to keep a sharp eye on me and to fish me out if I start swimming all over the place. Yesterday I went for my first mountain bike ride since being diagnosed, it wasn’t a long ride, I don’t want to push it too hard at the moment because I am still trying to figure out how this all affects me. I have to take a couple of energy bars with me when I go riding to make sure my sugar levels don’t drop when I am up in the mountains.

In the last couple of days I have learnt so much but as I learn more I have begun to realize how little I know. This is going to be a constant journey of learning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

